A theme for Tamizh!!!

Yes, I got to hear the anthem composed for the World Classical Tamil Conference that is set to be held in my home town Coimbatore next month. And as usual, just got delighted hearing this creation from a dream combo of A R Rahman as the music director and Kalaingar Karunanidhi as the lyricist.

Almost 70 singers who have rendered their voice to this theme song are the greatest ones in the fields of tamil film, carnatic, rap and sufi music. It is the veteran singer TMS who begins the theme song with the line ‘Pirapokkum Ella Uyirkkum’ and others who follow him are P Susheela, Hariharan, Aruna Sairam, Bombay Jayashree, Srinivas, Nityasree Mahadevan, Sowmya, Harini, Karthik, Naresh Iyer, Chinmayee, Blaaze, Benny Dayal, G.V.Prakash and Shruti Hassan. And the surprise element is Yuvan has given his singing along with Rahman, which I think to be the first time.

 

The line ‘Semmozhiyana Tamizh Mozhiyam’ runs all through the song to emphasize the greatness of classical Tamil. Also, I have read in papers that Kalaignar has included the references to the literary works of Tholkapiyar, Thiruvalluvar, Kamban and Ilango Adigal in the lyrics.

Even though, at places I got a feel of Vellai Pookal & Thai Manne Vanakkam, it had just spiced the feel of the song. And as Rahman tries something special in all his compositions, he has done in this one too. It is nothing but the usage of rap music for this classical tamil theme. But it has been blended well with song that makes us to enjoy it.

And I just can’t wait to see the picturisation of the song, as it has been directed by Gautham Vasudev Menon. However I just got a feel that it would have been much better if it has been done by Maniratnam. Anyway lets believe that Gautham also gives one of his best.

So, for you guys, here is the link for enjoying the music.

World Classical Tamil Conference Theme Song

7 thoughts on “A theme for Tamizh!!!

  1. Listened the song. It was a nice rendition by all the famous playback singers…

    Just a few days to the event, right??Enjoy!!

  2. Idu varaikku anda patta ketkkaada ore Tamizh aal naanaaga daan iruppen…Very much thrilled to hear it. Yeah I have a link for that song. I’ll download it now. Me too eagerly waiting to see the picturization of the song…:-)

  3. Oh my God the song is just electrifying…While hearing it,throughout the song I had some electrical impulses gushing in my body. And the picturization is terrific. Gives me strong doses of Tamilian feel. I like it. And I feel like I need to contribute something decent from my side in my future being a lover and follower of Tamil.

Leave a Reply

